No 82 Großes Concert

Fri 19th June 2015 20:00 pm
Gewandhaus, Großer Saal

– S. Rachmaninow: Sinfonie d-Moll – B. Bartók: Violinkonzert Nr. 1, Sz. 36 – S. Rachmaninow: Sinfonie Nr. 1 d-Moll, op. 13

Gidon Kremer (violin), Gewandhausorchester Leipzig, direction: Gewandhauskapellmeister Riccardo Chailly

A Gewandhaus event

simple div

Ticket prices: € 74,22 | 57,72 | 46,72 | 35,72 | 23,72 | 7,22

simple div

The sum of all his previous works, Sergei Rachmaninov’s first symphony towers over anything else he or his fellow composers composed. Rachmaninov’s genre debut – a nearly one hour-long work – is bass-heavy, with richly opulent wind sections, bold harmonies, orchestral effects and dense counterpoint. Rachmaninov’s op. 7 written in 1893 was inspired by lines by the Russian poet, M. J. Lermontov. In the poem, irreconcilable objects – clouds and rock – clash, and the music conveys this with abrupt contrasts. »Vocalise« became one of his most popular works. This could be because it can be viewed as a symbol of Rachmaninov’s compositional work as a whole: profound, inexpressible sorrow is reflected in music and transfigured to glorious beauty.