No 81 Brandenburg Concertos I

Fri 19th June 2015 20:00 pm
Altes Rathaus

– J. S. Bach: Brandenburgisches Konzert Nr. 5 D-Dur, BWV 1050 – J. S. Bach: Brandenburgisches Konzert Nr. 6 B-Dur, BWV 1051 – J. S. Bach: Brandenburgisches Konzert Nr. 2 F-Dur, BWV 1047 – J. S. Bach: Non sa che sia dolore, BWV 209 – J. S. Bach: Brandenburgisches Konzert Nr. 4 G-Dur, BWV 1049

Maria Keohane (soprano), Concerto Copenhagen, direction: Lars Ulrik Mortensen (harpsichord)

Concert introduction: 7.00 pm, Altes Rathaus, Dr. Klaus Rettinghaus (pre-concert talk in German)

simple div

Ticket prices: € 47,00 | 37,00
reduced: € 42,00 | 32,00

simple div

When Bach moved to Leipzig in1723, he had plenty of music in his luggage – including works that had originally been written for the court orchestras of Weimar and Köthen. Of these, six are generally known today as the »Brandenburg Concertos«. However, in Leipzig they were no longer usable in their original form. Consequently, Bach later re-arranged some of them for performances with his collegium musicum; the others he broke up, putting individual movements to use elsewhere – in his cantatas, for example. In two concerts, the world-famous versions of the »Brandenburg Concertos« will be juxtaposed with largely less well-known arrangements.