No 61 Installation Music

Thu 19th June 2014 18:00 pm
The true art

– J. S. Bach: Lobe den Herrn, meine Seele, BWV 69 – C. P. E. Bach: Gnädig und barmherzig ist der Herr, Wq 250 (BR-CPEB F 62) – C. P. E. Bach: Wer ist so würdig als du, Wq 222 (BR-CPEB Fs 76) – J. S. Bach: Wir danken dir, Gott, wir danken dir, BWV 29

Jolanta Kowalska (soprano), Kai Wessel (altus), Karol Kozłowski (tenor), Peter Harvey (bass), Capella Cracoviensis (Chor und Orchester), direction: Jan Tomasz Adamus

Concert introduction: 7.00 pm, Zeitgeschichtliches Forum, Dr. Wolfram Enßlin (pre-concert talk in German language)

simple div

Ticket prices: € 72,00 | 52,00 | 37,00 | 16,00
reduced: € 62,00 | 42,00 | 27,00 | 11,00

simple div

Installation Music with Trumpets and Timpani: Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach’s cantata »Gnädig und barmherzig ist der Herr« (Wq 250), written for the installation of the Hamburg pastor Gasie in 1785, is framed by two cantatas written by his father in Leipzig for the inauguration of a new town council: »Wir danken dir, Gott« (BWV 29, 1731) and »Lobe den Herrn meine Seele« (BWV 69, 1740s). The solemn character of all three installation pieces whether for the Hamburg cleric or the secular Leipzig town council, is made all the more impressive by the orchestral scoring for three trumpets and timpani. With its concise brevity, simplicity, directness and sensitivity, the installation music composed for Gasie displays Carl Emanuel Bach’s late vocal style, which turned out to be very different from that of his father. Complementing the three festive cantatas is the sole chorus »Wer ist so würdig« (Wq 222), also scored for three trumpets and timpani, which C. P. E. Bach performed for the first time in 1774 as part of a public concert in Hamburg and later integrated into one of his Easter Cantatas.