No 25 »nothing but masterpieces«

Sun 12th June 2016 15:00 pm
The cantata cycle of 1723/24

– J. S. Bach: Der Himmel lacht! Die Erde jubilieret, BWV 31 – J. S. Bach: Mein Gott, wie lang, ach lange, BWV 155 – J. S. Bach: Sie werden aus Saba alle kommen, BWV 65 – J. S. Bach: Herr, wie du willt, so schicks mit mir, BWV 73 – J. S. Bach: Singet dem Herrn ein neues Lied, BWV 190

Joanne Lunn (soprano), Margot Oitzinger (alto), Benjamin Bruns (tenor), Peter Kooij (bass), Knabenchor Hannover, Concerto Köln, direction: Jörg Breiding

Concert introduction: 4.00 pm, Alte Börse, Dr. Manuel Bärwald (pre-concert talk in German)

simple div

Ticket prices: € 77,00 | 62,00 | 37,00 | 19,00
reduced: € 67,00 | 52,00 | 32,00 | 16,00

simple div

Retracing the key dates in the church year – Easter, Whitsun and Epiphany – this concert offers four works from Bach’s early Leipzig cantatas which exemplify the high standard of liturgical culture in Leipzig immediately after Bach’s assumption of the post of cantor of St. Thomas’s Church. The rich, festive instrumentation of the Easter and Whitsun cantatas, BWV 31 and BWV 74 (with up to three trumpets, three oboes and timpani besides the strings), does justice to the two principal feast days in the church year. The same goes for the Epiphany cantata »Sie werden aus Saba alle kommen«, BWV 65; here too, we owe the splendid orchestration of the work with its additional horns, recorders and oboes da caccia, to the special importance of the Feast of the Epiphany at Bach’s period.