No 17 Leipzig Bach cantatas

Sat 13th June 2015 20:00 pm

– J. S. Bach: Gott, man lobet dich in der Stille, BWV 120 – J. S. Bach: Ich glaube, lieber Herr, hilf meinem Unglauben, BWV 109 – J. S. Bach: Wachet! betet! betet! wachet!, BWV 70 – J. S. Bach: O ewiges Feuer, o Ursprung der Liebe, BWV 34

Hanna Zumsande (soprano), Elvira Bill (mezzo soprano), Manuel König (tenor), Tobias Berndt (bass), Kölner Kammerchor, Collegium Cartusianum, direction: Peter Neumann

Concert introduction: 7.00 pm, Musikschule Leipzig »Johann Sebastian Bach«, Dr. Manuel Bärwald (pre-concert talk in German)

simple div

Ticket prices: € 87,00 | 67,00 | 47,00 | 21,00
reduced: € 77,00 | 57,00 | 37,00 | 16,00

simple div

Civic pride in the »fame and splendour« of their »beloved linden town« was expressed in Leipzig in an annual church service; celebrating the town council elections, this was always held on a Monday at the end of August with the performance of a splendid piece of festive music in the church of St. Nicholas. Of Bach’s Leipzig Ratswechsel cantatas, only five have come down to us, and one of them, »Gott, man lobet dich in der Stille«, opens this concert in a wonderfully festive vein. It is followed by three further pieces that provide a representative cross-section of the diverse cantatas that Bach wrote in Leipzig, from new compositions written during his early years as cantor (BWV 109) to rearrangements of pieces that he had already performed in Weimar (BWV 70), right through to the Whitsun classic »O ewiges Feuer, o Ursprung der Liebe«.