No 97 For Prince Leopold

Thu 20th June 2019  »  8:00 pm
Bach and Cöthen

– J. S. Bach: Durchlauchtster Leopold, BWV 173a – J. S. Bach: Klagt, Kinder, klagt es aller Welt, BWV 244a

Gudrun Sidonie Otto (soprano), David Erler (altus), Thomas Hobbs (tenor), Stephan MacLeod (bass), Deutsche Hofmusik, direction: Alexander Grychtolik (harpsichord)

Concert introduction: 7.00 pm, Zeitgeschichtliches Forum, Dr. Christine Blanken · Pre-concert talk in English: Prof. Dr. Michael Marissen
Ticket prices: € 72,00 | 55,00 | 36,00 | 18,00
reduced: € 62,00 | 47,00 | 30,00 | 15,00

The »Köthen Memorial Music«, BWV 244a, was performed on March 24, 1729, in the memorial service for Prince leopold of Anhalt-Köthen, Bach’s former employer. The music has been lost, as ist the case with most occassional works for the courts of Anhalt-Köthen and Saxony, but its existence is well documented through several sources. In today’s concert we will hear a reconstraction of the work – which is closesly linked to the Passion according to St. Matthew – by Alexander Grychtolik.