No 55 »Choicest Church-Music«

Sun 14th June 2020  »  8:00 pm to 9:30 pm
Roots of Bach V

– H. Schütz: Es steh Gott auf, SWV 356 – J. M. Bach: Die Furcht des Herren – J. C. Bach: Es erhub sich ein Streit – J. C. Bach: Meine Freundin, du bist schön – D. Buxtehude: Nichts soll uns scheiden von der Liebe Gottes, BuxWV 77 – J. S. Bach: Gott ist mein König, BWV 71

Hana Blažíková (soprano), Martha Bosch (soprano), Maarten Engeltjes (contratenor), Tilman Lichdi (tenor), Klaus Mertens (bass), Amsterdam Baroque Orchestra & Choir, direction: Ton Koopman

Concert introduction: 7.00 pm, Zeitgeschichtliches Forum, Prof. Dr. Peter Wollny • Pre-concert talk in English: Prof. Dr. Michael Marissen
Ticket prices: € 105,00 | 80,00 | 52,00 | 21,00
reduced: € 89,00 | 67,00 | 42,00 | 16,00

The final concert in this series is devoted to the works of the »Alt-Bachisches Archiv« scored for a large orchestra, works by Buxtehude and J. S. Bach’s famous Mühlhausen »Ratswahl« cantata. With their recordings of the complete vocal works of J. S. Bach and Buxtehude, Ton Koopman and his ensembles have proven that they are congenial interpreters of this splendid repertoire. We are looking forward in particular to Koopman’s first encounter with the sublime wedding dialogue by J. C. Bach and his 22-voice »Es erhub sich ein Streit« – a breathtaking piece that J. S. Bach once performed in Leipzig: »All were amazed at the effect!«.