No 15 Splendid Masses

Sat 10th June 2017  »  8:00 pm
The cantata cycle of 1724/25

– J. S. Bach: Messe A-Dur, BWV 234 – J. S. Bach: Kyrie eleison – Christe, du Lamm Gottes, BWV 233a – J. S. Bach: Meine Seel erhebt den Herren, BWV 10 – J. S. Bach: Messe G-Dur, BWV 236

Maria Keohane (soprano), Daniel Carlsson (altus), Thomas Volle (tenor), Jakob Högström (bass), Eric Ericson Chamber Choir, Drottningholm Baroque Ensemble, direction: Fredrik Malmberg

Concert introduction: 7.00 pm, Zeitgeschichtliches Forum, Dr. Klaus Rettinghaus · Pre-concert talk in English: Dr. Andrew Talle

simple div

Ticket prices: € 87,00 | 67,00 | 47,00 | 21,00
reduced: € 77,00 | 57,00 | 37,00 | 16,00

simple div

After his first 15 years as the incumbent Thomaskantor in Leipzig, Johann Sebastian Bach embarked on a thorough revision of his creative work. Part of this involved his composing four masses from two dozen of his best cantata movements. Yet after Bach’s death, these »Lutheran masses«, consisting of the Kyrie and Gloria, were largely forgotten and right into the twentieth century dismissed as »minor« works, based on cheap parody. And yet the opposite is true: with Bach’s sophisticated musical reworking of them into masses, the former cantata movements seem like new compositions.