No 149 Cello Suites 2

Sat 16th June 2018  »  10:30 pm
Salles de Pologne

– J. S. Bach: Suite Es-Dur, BWV 1010 – J. S. Bach: Suite c-Moll, BWV 1011 – J. S. Bach: Suite D-Dur, BWV 1012

Pieter Wispelwey

Ticket price: € 37,00
reduced: € 32,00

With his suites for solo cello, Johann Sebastian Bach created extraordinarily many-faceted, first-class works that dominate the cello repertoire to this day. The pieces were written in around 1720 in Köthen, where Bach, as the court kapellmeister, was inspired by the artistry of the outstanding musicians in his orchestra. At the time the cello was still a relatively new instrument which, with its powerful sound and large compass, was in the process of supplanting the viola da gamba. Bach helped win this string instrument its spurs even in solo performances without any form of accompaniment. In the suites, he sounds out the full range of technical possibilities it offers, with runs of rapid notes, subtle double stops and a wide variety of forms and compositional styles.