No 127 Excellent

Sat 22nd June 2019  »  11:30 am
Leipziger Stadtbibliothek, Oberlichtsaal

– J.-N.-P. Royer: Suite Nr. 1 – J.-N.-P. Royer: Suite Nr. 3 – J. S. Bach: Contrapunctus 1, aus: Die Kunst der Fuge, BWV 1080 – J. S. Bach: Contrapunctus 2 – J. S. Bach: Ouvertüre h-Moll nach französischer Art, BWV 831

Avinoam Shalev (harpsichord − 1st Prize at the Leipzig International Bach Competition 2018)

Ticket price: € 25,00
reduced: € 19,00

Should not suites for double-manual harpsichords in the French style, written in the 1730s, sound at least similar, regardless of whether they were composed in Paris or Leipzig? Yet the corresponding works by Joseph-Nicolas-Pancrace Royer and Johann Sebastian Bach are fundamentally different – a circumstance which could have something to do with the different musical backgrounds of the two composers. A live comparison.