No 106 Klavierübung 4

Thu 14th June 2018  »  8:00 pm
Altes Rathaus

– J. S. Bach: Toccata d-Moll, BWV 913 – J. S. Bach: Toccata e-Moll, BWV 914 – J. S. Bach: Italienisches Konzert F-Dur, BWV 971 – J. S. Bach: Partita D-Dur, BWV 828 – J. S. Bach: Chaconne d-Moll, aus: Partita d-Moll, BWV 1004, eingerichtet für Klavier von J. Brahms (1833–1897)

Jean Rondeau (harpsichord)

Ticket prices: € 44,00 | 37,00
reduced: € 38,00 | 32,00

Despite his huge workload as Thomaskantor, with numerous tasks related to church music and school, Johann Sebastian Bach also devoted himself intensively to the composition of new works for keyboard instruments during his time in Leipzig. He pressed on with particular passion with one project for a large-scale printed work, which he entitled »Clavier-Übung«. Between 1726 and 1741, Bach personally published four large volumes of compositions in which he presented himself to the musical public as a dazzling keyboard virtuoso. The six Partitas for harpsichord (BWV 825–830) open Bach’s largest publishing project. These are suites written in a huge variety of styles. With the French Overture in B minor (BWV 831) and the Italian Concerto in F major (BWV 971), Bach turned his hand in Part II of the »Clavier-Übung« to the two leading European national styles. In Part III, Bach then demonstrated his extraordinary skill as a composer of liturgical organ music with the Prelude and Fugue in E flat major (BWV 552) and numerous settings of the best-known hymns. Lastly, as the crowning glory of the »Clavier-Übung«, Bach published the Goldberg Variations, one of the most powerful works of variations in the entire history of music.