No 80 Concertante church music

Fri 19th June 2015 20:00 pm

– J. S. Bach: Die Elenden sollen essen, BWV 75 – J. S. Bach: Konzert d-Moll, BWV 1043 – J. S. Bach: Lobet Gott in seinen Reichen, BWV 11

Charlotte Schoeters (soprano), Avery Amereau (mezzo soprano), Nathan Haller (tenor), Božidar Smiljanić (bass baritone), Davina Clarke (violin), Carrie Krause (violin), Juilliard School, New York, & Royal Academy of Music, London, Choir, Juilliard415 & Royal Academy of Music Baroque Orchestra, Rachel Podger (concertmaster), direction: Masaaki Suzuki

Concert introduction: 7.00 pm, Universität Leipzig, Felix-Klein-Hörsaal, Bernd Koska (pre-concert talk in German)

simple div

Ticket prices: € 87,00 | 67,00 | 47,00 | 21,00
reduced: € 77,00 | 57,00 | 37,00 | 16,00

simple div

»Die Elenden sollen essen« is Bach’s first cantata as cantor of St. Thomas’s Church. The piece reveals impressive musical diversity and is more or less a programme for the body of cantatas Bach would go on to write in Leipzig. In the Concerto for Two Violins in D Minor, Bach masterfully combines two in fact opposing principles: the concertante principle that aims to juxtapose contrasting soli and tutti sections, and that of strict imitation, which is aimed at seamlessly interweaving several parts. Bach continuously puts the two solo parts in competition with one another while at the same time using material with very closely related motifs. The opulent orchestration of the Ascension Oratorio (BWV 11) makes it the highlight of any concert. With oboes, flutes and trumpets, Bach exploits the entire available spectrum of woodwind to give the necessary weight to this feast-day composition.